Board Of Directors Biographies

NMTC 2019 Board of Directors and Executive Team

Denise Carnaggio,APG Liaison, Strategic Partnerships, Harford Community College. Prior, Denise served as deputy director of the Harford County Office of Economic Development, is a founding member of NMTC and has served on the board since 1991. She is also a founding member of the Army Alliance and serves on its Board, as well as on the boards of the Aberdeen Chapter of the Association of the Army and the University of Maryland Cooperative Extension Office. She serves on several Harford County Public Schools planning and advisory committees.

Melissa Kuzma, President, Kuzma Technical Enterprises, is a For-Profit, Woman Owned Small Business, training solutions and implementation company, with its core business helping companies transform education and training from the classroom and outdated mediums into an e-Learning environment, bringing their training to life on the web. Melisa serves as Board Secretary.

Dr. Mary Way Bolt, President of Cecil College, currently serves on the boards of Union Hospital, the Regional Additive Manufacturing Partnership of Maryland (RAMP-MD), and the Northeast Maryland Higher Education Advisory. She also serves on the Cecil County Economic Development Commission and the Susquehanna Workforce Investment Board. Dr. Bolt earned an associate’s degree in nursing from Cecil College. She received her doctoral degree in higher education and leadership from Widener University. Her post-doctoral studies included the Harvard University Management Development Program.

Randy Rippin, president and partner in RTR Technologies, LLC, joined the NMTC board in 2007 and was its chairman in 2011-2012. Rippin has more than 30 years experience in computer and information systems design, software engineering and operations research analysis. He is a subject matter expert in border management technologies for the Dept. of Homeland Security, and aircraft readiness for NAVAIR. Rippin also is active in commercial and defense-related business and technology organizations.

Sue Manning serves as Business Development Specialist for Freedom Federal Credit Union. Before joining Freedom Federal Credit Union Ms. Manning held management positions with AT&T Capital Corporation and Global Payment Solutions. Ms. Manning served as the Vice President of the Maryland American Heart Association and the Harford County Manager for the American Cancer Society. Ms. Manning is very engaged with the Harford County community. She recently served as Treasurer for Women In Defense, is active with the Aberdeen Chamber of Commerce, serves as president of the Southern Harford Rotary and Co-Chairs the Military Affairs Committee for the Harford County Chamber of Commerce. Sue serves as Board Treasurer

Frank Cardo is the Instructional Coordinator for Science and STEM in the Cecil County Public Schools (CCPS). Mr. Cardo earned a MSA degree from University of North Carolina and a BS in Microbiology from University of South Florida and served our nation with the 82nd Airborne, U.S. Army. He also spent time as a missionary in Haiti where he built a Christian radio station. Recently, Mr. Cardo served on the Maryland Science Supervisor Association Board and was their 2013-2015 President.

Mike Parker, Industry Consultant, retired from Leidos in 2015. He joined Leidos in April 2007 as the Business Unit Senior Strategist. Prior to joining Leidos he served for 38 years as a civilian supporting the US Army. His last position was as the Program Manager for Assembled Chemical Weapons Assessment (PM ACWA) and Director Chemical Materials Agency(CMA). In February 2003 he was named Director of the US Army Chemical Materials Agency, a position which he held in conjunction with his assignment as PM ACWA until 15 January 2007. Mr. Parker previously served as the Deputy to the Commander of the U.S. Army Soldier and Biological Chemical Command and as the Technical Director of the U.S. Army Chemical Research, Development and Engineering Center (now known as the Edgewood Chemical Biological Center). Mike Parker joined the NMTC Board of Directors in 2008.

Dr. Michael O’Leary, Professor and Chairperson, Dept. of Mathematics, Towson University was also Director & Founder of the School of Emerging Technologies at Towson, Prior to that, he was the director of the Center for Applied Information Technology (2007-2012) and the graduate director of the Integrated Homeland Security Management Master’s program (2008-2012). His sought-after expertise and research interest is in the development of improved mathematical algorithms for the geographic profiling problem, which is the problem of estimating the location of a serial criminal’s home base from the known locations of the crimes. This work has been sponsored by the National Institute of Justice. In addition, he coaches student teams on cyber security, and cyber security competitions, leading the Towson team to the finals of the National Collegiate Cyber Defense Competition (NCCDC) in 2010 and 2012; and he also coached the team that won the Maryland Cyber Challenge in 2011.

Claudine Adams, CEO and founder of Bravura Inc., has 30 years of professional experience, with increasing responsibilities throughout her career building operations and businesses. She was ranked number 1 in the nation for her performance at Xerox, and was the executive responsible for building Adams Communication to currently over $200M in annual revenue. Since founding Bravura in 2014, her company ‘has been recognized as one of the fastest small business companies, and has been awarded the Best of Belcamp for Computer Support and Services for 2015, 2016 and 2017. Born in Philadelphia, PA, Ms. Adams graduated from the University of Pennsylvania, with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology. She then received a Master’s of Theology from Calvary Christian College in Waldorf, Maryland. She is a member of The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the Smithsonian Institution

Mary Beth Stapleton, MSW, is Coordinator of Grants, Business and Community Partnerships- Harford County Public Schools, Where she provides administrative leadership in developing, acquiring, implementing, managing, and monitoring federal, state, and foundation grants worth 25 million dollars. In addition, provide leadership and support to executive leadership and school- based administrators and staff in grant planning and development, evaluation, and program management designed to improve achievement for students.

NMTC Executive Team

John W. Casner, serves as Executive Director of the NMTC since 2006. Currently a business consultant and executive coach, he has considerable experience in new product development, product design, manufacturing, strategic marketing and operations.  He also serves on the board of directors for the Northeast Maryland University Research Park, advisor to MD Def Tech, and is a past president of Sales & Marketing Executives International. He is a multiple patent holder, inventor of the Dustbuster™cordless vacuum cleaner, certified as a Professional Engineer and holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Mechanical Engineering from New Jersey Institute of Technology and an a Masters In Business Administration from Loyola University.