NMTC 8th Annual Visionary Awards Announces Honorees

Honorees For Our 8th Annual Visionary Awards announced.

The NMTC Visionary Awards, celebrates and recognizes your neighbors, colleagues, family, and friends contributing to building a STEM-educated workforce and advancing technology & innovation. They, and our awards committee, are a total volunteer effort.

Visionary Award    Claudine Adams       Bravura Information Technology Systems

Leader Award       Kathleen Kirk       DSA, Inc.
Leader Award       Susan Manning       Freedom Federal Credit Union
Leader Award       Jamie Gurganus Ph. D  University Maryland, Baltimore County
Innovator Award   Martha Barwick Ed. D   Harford County Public Schools
Innovator Award   Charles Nietubicz       U.S. Army Research Laboratory
Mentor Award       Tracey Schreiner       DSA, Inc.
Mentor Award       Frank Mayer       Harford Community College
Mentor Award       Wilbert Moultrie       U.S. Army Public Health Center
Mentor Award       Carrie Kauffman       Battelle
Rising Star Award      Matthew Kiefert       U.S. Army Research Laboratory
Rising Star Award      Caitlyn Byrne       MITRE Corporation
Rising Star Award       Gina Fugate        MD School for the Blind

Join hundreds as we recognize the leaders, innovators, mentors and others keeping our community strongThe NMTC drives building a STEM educated workforce and discovering the most potentially successful, new technologies to provide rewarding careers for our children, accelerate a profitable, regional economy and defend our national security.

This evening, with your sponsorship and attendance, we honor these individuals and encourage others to follow their lead.

Please join the hundreds attending, including key corporate sponsors, leading education institutions, senior Aberdeen Proving Ground leaders and scientists, STEM teachers, NMTC member company presidents and others believing our future cannot be left to chance.

Visionary Awards Honors 13 Outstanding STEM Contributors

A select group of Marylanders received the prestigious Visionary Award on February 25, 2016, for their contributions to the advancement of STEM education and technology. The ceremony held at the Richlin Ballroom in Edgewood, MD, was attended by 220 leaders in industry, government, and education. A special video highlighting the emerging STEM Clubs in the region was introduced.

“We honored remarkable people who continue to play key roles in moving our region forward in the areas of education and technology,” said NMTC Board Chair, Michael Parker. “These are individuals who selflessly donate their time and talents to make a difference in their community.”

The 2016 Visionary Award winners are:
Denise Carnaggio, Director of Community Education, Continuing Education and Training, Harford Community College.

John Mayhorne, Dean of Business, Computing and Applied Technology, Harford Community College.
Christine Zatalava, Stem Instructional Coach, Cecil County Public Schools

Susan Kipp, Parent Volunteer, Youth’s Benefit Elementary School.
Sarah Voskuhl, Program Specialist, Science & Math Academy at Aberdeen High School.

Dr. Rose Pesce-Rodriguez, Research Chemist, US Army Research Laboratory, Aberdeen Proving Ground.
Greg Fox, Technical Fellow, Northrop Grumman (Retired).
Kelly Mangum, 4th Grade Teacher, Hickory Elementary School, Harford County Public Schools.
Omar Savory, Computer Engineer, US Army Intelligence and Information Warfare Directorate Research and Development Engineering Command, APG.

Rising Stars:
Christina Bryant, Recruitment And Outreach Program Manager, US Army Test and Evaluation Command, APG.
Kimberly Bowers, HR. Management Specialist, Us Army CECOM Software Engineering Center, APG.
Nicole McKew, Strategic Engagements And Stem Outreach, Program Manager, Edgewood Chemical & Biological Center (ECBC), APG
Jan Stewart, 4th Grade Teacher And Science Facilitator, Hickory Elementary School, Harford County public Schools.

“We are grateful to these individuals for helping our region grow to the next level. Northern Maryland has changed and our economic infrastructure is increasingly focused on research and technology development,” said John Casner, executive director of NMTC. “These are the individuals who are building the foundation for the future of our region.”

NMTC is Maryland’s fast growing technology council, connecting collaborative leaders in over 200 industry and technology companies in building a STEM educated workforce and advancing technology growth to better the economic growth of our region and protect our national security.

NMTC Board Member, Denise Carnaggio, receives award

NMTC Board Member, Denise Carnaggio, and CSSC BRAC Coordinator for Harford County OED, receives prestigious Major General John G. Appel Award for her lengthy and un-relenting support of the APG-Harford County community, at the recent Harford County Chamber, Military Appreciation Luncheon, May 14, 2015. 

The award was presented by its 2014 recipient, Dean Ertwine, BG US Army (ret), formew Battelle executive and now, Executive Director, MD Business Round Table.

Attended by a record 380, at the Richlin Ballroom, Edgewood, MD, it was exciting. Those knowing Denise (and I’d bet it was 370 in the room who did), broke out in applause, and yes, whistles when her name was announced.


NMTC congratulates Denise.

NMTC Member, Frederick Ward Assoc. in I95 BUSINESS this month

Craig Ward and his company premier in a new featured area of I95 BUSINESS where business leaders comment on issues facing us today.

Congratulations to Craig for being chosen to debut this new featured area of the magazine.

Introducing a New Column! ON BUSINESS by Craig Ward, President
Frederick Ward Associates
Pick up your copy at the NMTC office (or kiosk outside our office) or Wegmans and Shoprite