Follow us on NMTC at LinkedIn NTMC at FaceBook NMTC at Twitter NMTC at Twitter

Northeastern Maryland Technology Council
News and Updates

Northeastern Maryland Technology Council (NMTC) Named Visionary Award Winners for 2017

Fourteen Marylander’s To Be honored at February 23, 2017 Ceremony 
Havre d Grace, MD ― A select group of Marylander’s will receive the prestigious Visionary Award on February 23, 2017, for their contributions to the advancement of STEM education and technology advancement. The ceremony, at the Richlin Ballroom in Edgewood, MD, now in its sixth year, is typically attended by more than 250 leaders in industry, government, and education.

“We honor remarkable people who continue to play key roles in moving our region forward in the areas of STEM education and technology,” said NMTC Board Chair, Michael Parker. “These are individuals who selflessly donate their time and talents to make a difference in their community.”

The 2017 Visionary Award winners are:

    • Visionary: Dr. Mary Way Bolt, President, Cecil College.
    • Leader: Joan Michel, Managing Partner, Profile Partners
    • Leader: Dr. Patrick McNutt, Principal Investigator, Army Medical Research Institute of Chemical Defense
    • Leader: Dr. John Suarez, Senior Research Engineer, Army Communications-Electronics Research, Development and Engineering Center
    • Innovator: Dr. Veronica Dougherty, Chair, Sciences and Engineering, Cecil College
    • Innovator: Scott English, Forester, Directorate of Public Works at Aberdeen Proving Ground
    • Innovator: Marlene Lieb, Associate Vice President (retired), Harford Community College
    • Mentor: Anne Marie Baumann, Lead Teacher, Cecil County Public Schools.
    • Mentor: John Nierwinski, Operations Research Analyst & Adjunct Professor, Army Materiel Systems Analysis Activity and Florida Institute of Technology
    • Mentor: Dr. Ebony Roper, Professor of Chemistry, Cecil College
    • Mentor: Dick Schwanke, President, Senior Science Society at Harford Community College
    • Rising Star: Alison Baranowski, Master Teacher, Harford County Public Schools
    • Rising Star: Jerry Crabb, STEM Program Coordinator, Army Research Development and Engineering Command
    • Rising Star: Jacqueline Wilson, Assistant Professor, Computer Science, Cecil College

“We are grateful to these individuals for helping our region grow to the next level. Northern Maryland has changed and our economic infrastructure is increasingly focused on research and technology development,” said John Casner, executive director of NMTC. “These are the individuals who are building the foundation for the future of our region.”

NMTC is Maryland’s fast growing technology council, connecting collaborative leaders in Academia,  Industry and the Federal Government to build a STEM educated workforce and advance innovation & technology growth to better the economy of our region and protect our national security.

NMTC Logo Main Web 2021 02

Northeastern Maryland Technology Council
2021 Pulaski Hwy, Suite D, Havre de Grace, MD 21078

John W. Casner, Executive Director

  Copyright NMTC

Follow us on NMTC at LinkedIn  NTMC at FaceBook  NMTC at Twitter  NMTC at Twitter